Time to Put My Foot Down!

IMG_1582.JPGTomorrow the cast comes off!! So for only one more night, do I go to bed with this view!! I am besiiiiiide myself!!

IMG_1667.JPG
So on this final eve: I’m reflecting on this flamingo journey – and have noticed it hasn’t been all bad!!!

1. The world did not explode, collapse or stop spinning even though I could not walk or drive.

2. My family is in fact fully capable of doing all the washing, cooking and cleaning, and I even always had clean undies!! (Wow)

3. My gorgeous friends and family have been soooo very kind – driving both me and my children all over Brisbane, cooking, visiting, listening to me whinge, delivering and retrieving various things I’ve needed throughout the entire 6 weeks without complaining once!!

IMG_1581.JPG

4. Surprisingly I have been able to appreciate the increased simplicity of being on one leg – despite its inconvenience it has been just a little less crazy than normal, which was actually pretty awesome. So If I can I’m going to try to maintain just a little bit of the serenity and stop over-committing myself quite so much!

5. I have a completely new appreciation for the simple stuff – and can’t wait to go grocery shopping (sad but true story), drive down to the shop if I’ve run out of milk, go up to school for reading, go out without crutches, my food to the table (😁), and walk the dog.

IMG_1612.JPG

And for you my fellow flamingoes?? Thank you for all of your kind comments, clicks and views which have truly kept me going through the tough times!!

From pining for my skinny pants, to viewing nearly every image in Pinterest to buying, borrowing or renting any device designed for flamingoes – it’s been quite the journey. And it’s not quite over – as I move on to moon-boots, Physio and stiffness – but the hard part is done, and I look forward to continuing my recovery journey on two feet!

IMG_1491.JPG

Leave a comment